Leggings, versions 2-4

After seeing what a quick sew leggings can be, I made a few more pairs over the weekend.  I think I have a little problem.   Addiction, even.

I also completed my very first re-fashion, which adds an extra little thrill.  (I mean, as if sewing isn’t thrilling enough…)  First up, a fun striped pair that lived its first life as a dress.  I was just able to squeak out the full pattern (okay, maybe they are a bit short), and used the original hem, which I like.

Adirondack Inspired: Legging Re-fashion

Step 1: find fun fabric you already own

Adirondack Inspired: Legging Re-fashion

Step 2: trace pattern and cut

DSC_0200 (Large)

Step 3: sew them together, use original hem to save a step.

The final step is to put them on your model and chase her around to take pictures.

DSC_0220 (Large)

DSC_0226 (Large)

…and she’s done.

The next two pairs were made from leggings that I only wore during pregnancy.  My non-pregnant body prefers jeans and yoga pants.  It seemed fitting to re-fashion them for the baby who was in my belly when I wore them.  And, unlike the garage sale stash of BRIGHT knits that I have, these leggings were a nice, easy-on-the-eyes  gray and brown.

I also decided to try yoga waistbands for these last two.  I cut strips of fabric approximately 18″x4.5″ and then sewed the short sides together.  Then you fold the band in half length wise so one side is the fold and the other side has two raw edges.  You put the band right sides together with the leggings, lining up the 3 raw edges and sew.  I just kind of winged it, and while they work, they are extremely high wasted and a little loose on her belly.  When the mood strikes I will cut the waistbands off and re-sew.  It will be a gratifying project for another day.

DSC_0249 (Large)

I have to say, I am loving this re-fashioning thing.  Those leggings were not going to be worn again by this mama, and certain parts (the, ahem, back part) were so stretched at the seems that I wouldn’t have given them away, so it was nice to see them transform into something cute!  Plus, it is hard to find knit in Joann’s that isn’t interlock, and the jersey was much nicer for the leggings.  I also scaled down the pattern a smidge, so they aren’t as loose as the striped pair.

And while I could make ten more, I was inspired this weekend for a new project.  It’s something I’ve never tried before, but–good, bad, or ugly–I’ll be sure to share.

Leave a Reply

